Last-minute NANO participant…eyeroll at self!!!

IMG_8810

This project will be written entirely in longhand using notebooks(on purpose). Can you guess my favorite color? 😉

I had no intention to sign up for NANO–really!  In the last couple of years, I considered it briefly with the same intrigue someone might consider eating a basket of fried Oreos.   Interesting concept, but probably a really bad idea, that could lead to unpleasant distress.

November is the kick off to the holidays, right?  My kids have five scheduled school days off this month.   There are several birthdays and end-of-season sports parties to plan/attend.  And, let’s not forget the twenty-pound turkey that needs cooking with all the fixings…let alone the Christmas crazy haze that has already began in haste.   Whew!  That’s overwhelming!  But, you get an idea of why November is one of the worst months to immerge oneself into writing 50,000 words.  http://nanowrimo.org/

Unfortunately for me, I often don’t listen to the rational left-hemisphere of my brain.   I’m actually looking at this as an auspicious occurrence that was possibly meant to align at this very moment.  There is a trio of elements that flourished the NANO seed:

  1. The new project that I want to see in rough draft ASAP( https://shermierayne.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/when-the-dogs-bark-listen/  )
  2. I honestly can’t remember, too much coffee does this to me! Darn!  Ha!  How could I forget!  A major age-related milestone is coming up.
  3. A conversation hubby & I had Wednesday afternoon.

Without any doubt, it was that conversation that not only shone brightly on that little seed of NANO consideration, but soaked it until the roots were spreading quickly.   The conversation?  Well, it was the basic we-need-more-money lament.  But, when hubby finished with, “Why don’t you hurry up and finish that book and make us a million dollars?” I felt a belief in his words(maybe for the first time).  Perhaps it was merely desperate, temporary dreaming on his part, perhaps, yet I heard in his voice an undercurrent of hope and belief.  I needed that.  In that moment I knew I would push harder, try harder and struggle more.

I have been treading lightly; my footfalls have barely left an imprint.  I’m committing to the long hours and unrest of struggle, relenting to its beauty.   “Without a struggle, there can be no progress.” Frederick Douglass

There y’aIMG_8786ll go, that’s my “why” in a nutshell.  I don’t plan to blog this month unless something truly remarkable happens(fingers crossed).  If you’re curious enough to want to follow along with my month-long journey, please like my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ShermieRayne?ref=hl .  I’ll update my word counts there sporadically throughout the month.

IMG_8826

I hope everyone had a safe and happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

