So, I won my first writing contest…

http://www.wow-womenonwriting.com/57-FE1-Spring13Contest.html
Well, I should say that I won second place. However, it feels like I won the entire contest, because you see, the competition was within myself. I have been intermittently dabbling in writing for the last two years, unsure and uncertain, basically fearful to immerge myself completely. What if I wasn’t good enough? What if I was wasting time that could be more productive elsewhere? Thankfully, the biggest “what if” held steadfast: what if I don’t try?

This spring, after months of abandoning my writing and mentally beating myself up for not writing, I had an honest discussion with myself, which boiled down to one statement: either commit yourself or quit. I could not accept the latter. I just couldn’t let it go(I’m a bit stubborn). I had heard the promised whisper of what should be, which had to come to me when I needed it most. Alas, I was neglecting that purpose–and ultimately me. That had to change. Banishing faithless comments and doubtful looks, both those personally contrived and received by others, to the farthest reaches of comprehension released my productivity.

I also made the dynamic decision to start with just one of my several stories(all in various stages of development) and stick with it until the very end. No more daydreaming between various characters and worlds(unless something just happens to pop in my head). I’d be resolute and dedicated. I have to say, this obvious method is working, much to my chagrin.

Anyway, it was also around this time that I was Googling “writing contest” and happened to stumble upon Women On Writing’s website and their quarterly contest. My inspiration: β€œThe fair nymphs of this isle are in wonderful tribulation…” ~Francis, Lord Rawdon. I had recently heard/read of that famous British Army quote from the Revolutionary War. It bothered me, or more precisely the story behind the quote’s meaning…it angered me. Not because atrocities of that nature didn’t happen, or don’t still happen, but because it had occurred so freely on American soil. I envisioned being a mother with a young daughter to protect, and from that place of desperation, Revolution was born. And, may in fact become a full novel someday.
57-LHS-FE1-Spring13Contest

3 thoughts on “So, I won my first writing contest…

  1. Thank you for following my blog, and congratulations! I read your story, and it’s fantastic; you have a really vibrant writing style. I entered that same contest and placed in Winter 2011, and it has been just the inspiration I need to pursue writing. Like you, I might turn my story into a novel (or at least use it as inspiration πŸ™‚ ).

    • Thank you! I actually stumbled across your blog while browsing though WOW’s previous winners. I happy to have found the site and look forward to following your writing updates. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

