Adding words into your child’s daily life…

A couple of years back, I decided to add a “word board” to our already cluttered kitchen wall, sort of a visual prompt to gaze upon over a bowl of morning cereal. Although, I was still reading aloud nightly to my children(and still do!), it wasn’t enough to combat the increasing infiltration of electronics that were insidiously creeping not only into our home, but the school as well. So, with a discarded, glass-less frame and a purchased roll of dry-erase backing, I made the board you see here for less than five bucks.

IMG_7779

I began by adding or updating two or three words weekly. It wasn’t long before I was adding meaningful quotes, mantras or Scripture in an attempt to foster kindness, empathy and other attributes amongst my children. (For a short time I added a Spanish word-of-the-week, but this didn’t go over so well.)Their level of philosophical contemplation and discussion is not mind-blowing, but it is often engaging and sometimes near the mark. Regardless, they are thinking!

Honestly, my kids seem indifferent to the board, but have come to expect it to be updated regularly, and do go along with me sporadically asking for an explanation to a word’s implication, or the underlining thought behind a quote. Of course, they do not recall the meaning of every word that has been presented(I don’t expect this), but many words, especially those words that we’ve made everyday connections with, have become part of their vocabulary. And that, makes it so worth it!

What’s the all-time favorite word-board word? Insolent: it is heard quite often 😉

Leave a Reply

